Rosmini and MAGS Girls win Zone 1 Premierships plus wrap on all qualifiers for Nationals.

Rosmini Z1 winners

MAGS Girls Z1


The final three Schick National Championships qualifying spots in the Boys Tournament along with the Zone 1 championship titles were decided on Saturday at the Schick Premierships Zone 1 Qualifiers.

The Championship games were won by Rosmini College and Mt Albert Grammar Girls, both teams adding the Zone 1 Premierships title to the Auckland Premier Grade trophies they had claimed a couple of weeks ago.

In addition to those championship games there was also great interest in the trio of qualifying games.

Macleans College and Westlake were the first to secure trips to Palmerston North with wins against Selwyn College and Mt Albert respectively. Westlake were taken to the last possession of the game by MAGS before winning 85-83 but Macleans enjoyed a far more comfortable passage winning 103-56.

That left Selwyn and Westlake to contest the winner takes all 7th/8th play-off game.

Selwyn played their regular season games two tiers below Mt Albert and the difference in level of competition showed as MAGS claimed an easy 94-52 victory to claim the seventh and final qualifying place.

Rosmini were led by Mitch Dance (23 points), Kruz Perrott-Hunt and Marvin Williams-Dunn (16 points) as they beat St Kentigern 113-77 in the final. Shalom Broughton (17 points) and the tireless Alex McNaught (13 points) were outstanding in defeat.

Boys Results:


Rosmini 113 – M Dance 23, K Perrott-Hunt 19, M Williams-Dunn 16, S Murphy 10

St Kentigern 77 – S Broughton 17, A McNaught 13, L Kerr 10, E Watson 9, M Shorter 9


Rangitoto 104 – H Payne 46, L McIntosh 22, E Skelton 13, T Te Puni 8, O Paea 8

AGS 91 – A Rissetto 27, C Ngan 14, T Caldwell 14, I Tela 10, O Shosanya 10


Westlake 101 – J Kooiman 18, J Wuthrich 18, S Mennenga 14, D Clayton 13, C Atkinson 13, D Wilkie 13

Macleans 70 – M Barbaran 14, H Smith 13, P Cheuk 12, R Jiang 10


Mt Albert 94 – M Dorcill 22, T Hurdley 18, R Royce 15, N Wilson 11

Selwyn 52 – L Basobas 12, N Hughes 9, L Cheang 6, P Sawyer 6


For the second time in a fortnight Mt Albert Grammar got the better of Auckland Girls Grammar although it was mighty tight with only two points separating the two teams.

Down two of there starters due to injury AGGS hung around gamely with Mele Latu (15 points) leading from the front. However a game high 21 points from Sharne Pupuke-Robati and 13 points from Jada Manase were the major contributors to MAGS championship success.

Girls Results:


MAGS 55 – S Pupuke-Robati 21, J Manase 13, R Fiatau 8, M Va’ai 7

AGGS 53 – M Latu 15, I Noble 10, L Tuaiti 10, H Blakey 9, Z Hettig 8


Westlake 89 – E Shearer 20, P Manolas 15, J Moors 13, M Davidson 13

Rangitoto 63 – H Wentworth 13, A Rogers 11, R Blackstock 8, I Elgar 8, G Hasler-Ewins 8


St Mary’s 86 – J Kailahi-Fulu 25, Z Kailahi-Fulu 21, S Te Nana-Williams 14, T Malolo 7

Massey 61 – S Povey 13, L Jost 12, R Fuiavaa 11, K Leslie 11


Carmel 88 – T Dalton 40, E Broomfield 12, E Davidson 11, Q Stephano 10

Epsom 68 – S Aruwa 16, F Dallow 15, A Todd-Pemerika 15, S Scoular 13

In summary the qualifiers for the Shick Secondary Schools National Championships from the Girls Tournament are AGGS, MAGS, Westlake, Rangitoto, Massey and St Mary’s.

Progressing from the Boys Tournament are Rosmini, St Kentigern, Rangitoto, AGS, Westlake, Macleans and MAGS.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: