Daysh and Murphy added to NZ Premier Women’s team


The New Zealand Premier team to take on the Penina Davidson led University of California, Berkley at North Shore Events Centre on Sunday shows a couple of changes from that originally named.

Harbour Breeze guard Georgia Agnew has been nursing a leg injury for a while and following an arduous Tall Ferns tour has been forced to withdraw from the team. Her place has been taken by livewire Capital Swish guard Luye Murphy.

In addition Waikato Wizards guard has pulled out due to college commitments. The Premier team have opted to improve their rebounding arsenal by calling in Tauranga City Coasters forward Makayla Daysh.

Daysh was outstanding at the Women’s Basketball Championship finals in Christchurch leading the competition in scoring (18.0 points per game) and rebounding (14.4 per game).

The game will tip off on August 13th at 4.00pm at North Shore Events Centre and tickets are still available.

NZ Premier Team

Makayla Daysh (Tauranga City Coasters)

Deena Franklin (Harbour Breeze)

Hayley Gray (Alloyfold Canterbury Wildcats)

Charlisse Leger-Walker (Waikato Wizards)

Luye Murphy (Capital Swish)

Esra McGoldrick (Alloyfold Canterbury Wildcats)

Sariah Penese (Capital Swish)

Connie Poletti (Alloyfold Canterbury Wildcats)

Sharne Pupuke-Robati (Auckland Lady Rangers)

Darcy Rose (Alloyfold Canterbury Wildcats)

Nicole Ruske (Site Weld Otago Goldrush)

Sapphire Wairau (Alloyfold Canterbury Wildcats)

Coaches – Jody Cameron and Lori McDaniel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: