Whelan Trophy teams now sorted in Canterbury


From James Lissaman

Division I in the McDonald’s Whelan Trophy Competition was found, albeit with a negotiated change of teams, as Rangiora and St. Margaret’s mutually decided to switch divisions.

Division I games start next week, and will feature nine teams battling for semi-final spots in August: Ashburton; Burnside; Cashmere; Christchurch Girls’; Kaiapoi; Middleton Grange; Rangiora; Rangi Ruru; St. Andrew’s.

Division II expands, with six teams now competing: Avonside; Ellesmere; Lincoln; Hillmorton; St. Margaret’s; Villa Maria.

Middleton Grange once again proved their dominance, with an 85-58 win over Burnside. Aimee Book lead all scorers with 29p, and had Megan Ellis (18p) and Lauryn Hippolite (16p) join her in double figures for the Gators. Burnside’s Paige Willman led with 21p, while Sila Morris (12p) and Bridie Thompson (10p) also eeked into double figures.

In Division II of the Thompson Trophy, Linwood College and Riccarton just about had another game decided in the final seconds, as a 20 point Linwood lead almost completely vanished, before a few key baskets saw Linwood pull through 84-76. Rhoi Sanchez again scored easily (31p), but it was last week’s hero Tangaroa Faletolu who was impressive all over the court (13p 23r 5a). D’Arby Mcdiarmid-Taingahue also had a double double (14p 10r).


In Division I Middleton Grange can be proud of the way they are performing without TCU commit Angus McWilliam – just falling to the Dowson Cup holders from Burnside 87-75. Burnside’s sharpshooting duo John Quitiong (25p) and Liam Reekie (22p) did most of the damage, while Isaiah Morris (15p) calmly controlled his team’s offense. For Gators, Ben Carlile-Smith impressed with 28p, and had some nice games form Jed Rea and Joash Castillo, who had eleven points each.

Christ’s College poured it on against St. Bede’s 105-53 – no doubt providing plenty of motivation for the next time these two teams meet. Tom Hughes having another workmanlike game (23p 9r) in the loss.

All Results:

Whelan Trophy

St. Margaret’s 71-59 Avonside Girls’

Christchurch Girls’ 57-48 St. Andrew’s

Kaiapoi 63-60 Rangiora

Middleton Grange 85-58 Burnside

Villa Maria 62-46 Hillmorton

Rangi Ruru 67-59 Ashburton

Cashmere 83-65 Ellesmere

Thompson Division I

Christ’s 105-53 St. Bede’s

Ashburton 95-63 Rangiora

Christchurch Boys’ 77-66 St. Andrew’s

Burnside 87-75 Middleton Grange

(Shirley vs Cashmere scheduled for June 8)

Thompson Division II

Papanui 71-55 Ellesmere

Hillmorton 108-48 Lincoln

Linwood 84-76 Riccarton

Cathedral 131-56 Hornby

St. Thomas 117-62 Kaiapoi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: